Review for Flexsteel Latitudes Crosstown Leather Sofas (2022)

Explore DiscussionsFeatured Home DiscussionsFeatured Garden Discussions

Furniture

kool_star

12 years ago

Hi,

We like the flexsteel latitudes Crosstown leather sofa collection. But I wanted to do research in terms of this particular latitudes crosstown brand of flex steel if any one is used it and can provide some feed back on it, it would be very helpful.

The ones we like are http://www.leatherfurniturecenter.com/product/1210-62/1210-62-Crosstown-Group-Reclining-Sofa-by-Flexsteel.html

Thanks!

Featured Answer

  • michelleann70_yahoo_com

    11 years ago

    I have this furniture love the look but DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!
    we purchased this furniture in Feb of 2010 by June of 2010 the recliner had worn down to the fabric. The leather spot is now as big as a grapefuit!!! I tried several times to get this taken care of but we bought it on a clearance still giving 1700 for the pair, furniture fair nor flexsteel will do anything. We were not home that much to enjoy the furniture as we love to fish and were gone every evening so as to why this feel apart it much be a defect!!!!!! Now the other cusion is doing the same thing. If you did buy this and are having the same problem please email me it is so unfair not just to me but anyone who has purchased this furniture and having the same problem!!! We must get something done!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • duncanm14_comcast_net

      11 years ago

      I too am interested in the Flexsteel Latitudes Crosstown reclining sofa and recliner and almost bought it today. Is anyone happy with their purchase?

    • Related Discussions

      Need sofa advice! Ethan Allen or Pottery Barn?QComments (229)Lilywags - I 100% agree, I would never do. On the other hand I went into my local Pottery Barn store to try out the Tyler recliner, it was one of the most comfy chairs I’ve ever sat it, I ordered it based on trying it out, the two I received were absolutely nothing like the store model, cushions were not even made the same . I returned them. Now Pottery Barn is being sneaky on their website, the “in stock & ready to ship” is completely misleading and they know it. I ordered items 2/12/22, with delivery date given by end of February, which turned into “oh it’s being made overseas and blah blah blah. I received items almost 3 months later & it was just bedding. They refused to cancel my order when I noted the change of delivery a couple days later, even acknowledging it was 3 months out. Only after I spoke w/ a supervisor offering to text him my screenshots of order date & delivery info with 2 weeks given, and he even argued that the estimated date could be extended by months, I disagreed and held to how misleading the company has become. They graced (sarcasm) me by accepting my return as I had already purchased elsewhere and had long before PB order finally arrived. I have lost all my trust in this company. I think it’s time their CEO stands down and hire a leader that actually wants to run the company with integrity & transparency. She has ruined the company name but she doesn’t care obviously, she made about 24M in 2020. She will one day walk away with more money she’ll know what to do with, but leave the company in shambles. When I googled their reviews, it’s very very sad....See MoreSofa Depth for lounging and relaxingQComments (25)I don't want you to go over 3k for a sofa either, and I understand what you mean-I spent close to that on that EA couch in 2003, and it took 3 attempts to deliver it without frame damage, and it turns out the "designer" lied to me about a lot of things, and when the bottom fell out, literally, I called there and when I mentioned the designer, the woman said, oh, HER! Then they told me they could only give me the # of a furniture doctor, and I just have to share this, the woman there told me that, before they could give me a price on repair, they had to bring it to their facility, which would require two "technicians" to come to my home at $125 each, and it would cost the same for them to return the sofa, whether or not I had them repair it. So yes, it would cost $500 for the "technicians," I didn't know the Teamsters had a "technicians" division, without any work being done at all. So I'm sharing this because I'm still mad and need to vent, and am beginning to think that a good answer and not the best answer is to research what stores have good customer service, then go there and buy something that feels good to you, knowing it's not around for the long haul. I haven't found anyone with good customer service, but I'm 3000 miles away from you, and geography does matter. But RH is really horrible. Good luck!...See MoreBuying a simple sofa is not that simple!QComments (12)My sofas are not high end, and both are well over 20 years old and doing fine. Take all these comments about needing expensive sofas with a huge grain of salt. One of my sofas is a large LaZBoy reclining sectional that gets used constantly. I haven't even needed to recover it yet, it looks brand new. The other one was a mid range Scandinavian style, and I have gotten it recovered but it is structurally very sound and I expect will not need to be replaced any time soon. I've heard bad things about the really cheapo sofas they advertise on TV (eg, in the NJ area it's Bob's Discount Furniture). But if you stay away from those, I suspect you'll be fine with a decent midrange sofa....See MoreAlmost bought an England sofa last night. Feedback? Suggestions?QComments (4)Both items at less than 2K? There is no way something decent can come at that price. Just think of the material and then the labor and you'll see that it's not possible. The Flexsteel, I think, it's pretty expensive. I know it's durable (some people here on the forum have sofas from there and they all said that they are good). They are not the prettiest sofas, but they seem to be well made...See More
    • Glen-Echo

      11 years ago

      We have sold this unit tons of times and have had great success with it. Flexsteel like all other mfg are not without problems. Things happen. With that said it is very important that you trust the dealer you are buying from and make sure that they have great service after the sale should you have problems with the furniture.

    • RJH1971

      9 years ago

      Purchased Flex-Steel Latitudes Feb. 2010. I bought a sofa, love-seat, chair and 2 ottomans- all Dylan Group Leather. I purchased the additional leather protective sealer and the overall warranty was for 5 years. I spent over $6,000 for this group. I have had many leather pieces over the years. This is the worst furniture you can imagine. The leather color is peeling off after 2 years of use. The Front Room Furnishings store was alerted and kicked me to a Flex-Steel rep. They all have done nothing to fix the problem which is the same for each piece of furniture. I thought I was buying a made in the USA group - found out later it was made in China. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT - you will be disappointed and you'll waste your money like I did! Furthermore, I wouldn't recommend FRONT ROOM FURNISHINGS either. They should not sell a product that they won't support. Warranties mean nothing with these companies!

    • PRO

      iCustomSofa

      9 years ago

      Thank you for this update, RJH1971. I wish that you had better luck with your leather group. But im sure their are many others that are having similar problems with Flexsteel.
      The leather color peeling off will usually occur on leathers that are split, not top-grain, then a colored polyurethane coating is applied to add strength and cover imperfections to these hides. Also this will occur on by-cast leather.
      Question I have is the additional warranty from a 3rd party?

    • RJH1971

      9 years ago

      Rmanbike,
      Thanks for the response - the split leather is a very real possibility and the process you described is what I'm experiencing. The warranty was in my invoice from Front Room Furnishings with the fee I paid for it - it doesn't say if it was/is a third party - no listing whatsoever. I'm getting the better business bureau and other social media types to put pressure on these scoundrels! I don't know what else to do??

    • bearreilly

      8 years ago

      We bought two reclining sofas from the Latitude's Collection from a local retailer on June 18th 2013. I assured by the retailer that Flexsteel furniture was the best and everything had a great warranty. I have all these paperwork, including the warranty tags that were attached. The two sofas were delivered by the end of that month, but we didn't get to use them much, because we were gone most of the summer. Within a few weeks of use, the leather color wore off in spots (now worn off on some of the seams) and I contacted the retailer who gave me a color pen to touch up the leather. It is now May 2014 and the cushions sag and it is impossible to be comfortable while sitting on them. Because it is less than a year, I tried to contact the retailer, but the owner retired and closed the store. (Countryside Furniture) I called Flexsteel who told me I must go through another retailer that sells Flexsteel . They recommended several within 50 miles, including an upholsterer. I contacted a few and finally my call was returned by one who came, offered sympathy and took pictures. They told me they would contact Flexsteel and have them returned and repaired. Sounds good, right? Well today the retailer called and said Flexsteel turned downed the request ...that the couches mahim, my have been transferred to the original retailer from another store and therefore there was no warranty. Since the original retailer is out of business, I cant ask him. What can I do with the couches? I was advised I could try to sell them at a yard sale.
      Needless to say, I would advise against buying this collection. As for me, I will never again buy anything from Flexsteel. I believe in ethics. My husband and I are retired and cannot make an investment like this again.

    • bearreilly

      8 years ago

      After a lot of phone calls, emails, formal complaint with the BBB, Flexsteel has finally honored the warranty by sending an upholsterer to us and adding 2 inches of stiff foam to the seats. In addition, they say they are ordering 2 bottles of touch up dye that should help with the color rub off.
      We will be closing our complaint.
      For anyone considering this Lattitudes Collection, buyer beware...

      Review for Flexsteel Latitudes Crosstown Leather Sofas (10)

    • tenn.girl

      7 years ago

      I also bought Flexsteel because I was told it was the best. I had a spot appear before the 1 year "lifetime" warranty was up, but the furniture store where I purchased the set only had that spot dyed (spray painted). Now that area is faded again along with 3 others. I can't even sell this outfit the way it looks to try to recover a portion of what I over paid for it. Can anyone recommend a leather dye that I can use to cover up these hideous spots?

    • Charles327

      7 years ago

      Just read your review. I do not have an answer for the problem. We purchased two "American Made" recliners by Comfort Design. The leather was grade 4. Three months after delivery the leather began to peel on the edges of the foot rests on both chairs. BTW I am the only person who sat in the chairs. After much hassle with Caroilna Rustica, I received three foot rests that I had to install--great warranty.
      My guess is that you are stuck with junk and unfortunately there is little that you can do. I sympathize with you but that's not going to solve your problem.

    • Aveleigh Kyle

      6 years ago

      Do not buy Flexsteel. This is my 3rd try as the local furniture store offered me 2 replacements if by the same company. Same thing happened to both and I'm stuck with this

    • mary49721

      5 years ago

      Do NOT buy this product. I had always heard how great Flexsteel furniture was. However, if uyou have a warranty claim they will not honor it!!! Frame, covering & foam is cheaply made & failing. I paid $2,000 for a Lattitude electric reclining love seat in June 2015 that is now ready for the trash after only 1 year. BUYER BEWARE!

    • Tala Davidson

      5 years ago

      I understand that the Latitudes line is made in China.

    • kbitz06

      5 years ago

      We also bought a Flexsteel leather recliner on Oct. 2010. The leather looked awful after on year and found out there warranty is a joke. Now 2 of the steel bands under the seat broke. Total junk! We bought a living room set back in 1969 and it lasted for years and we only left it behind when we made a move in 1996 because I was tired of it and it was still in good shape. Nothing like going from a Cadillac company to the low of the lowest.

    You might also like

    Latest Posts

    Article information

    Author: Rob Wisoky

    Last Updated: 08/20/2022

    Views: 6419

    Rating: 4.8 / 5 (68 voted)

    Reviews: 83% of readers found this page helpful

    Author information

    Name: Rob Wisoky

    Birthday: 1994-09-30

    Address: 5789 Michel Vista, West Domenic, OR 80464-9452

    Phone: +97313824072371

    Job: Education Orchestrator

    Hobby: Lockpicking, Crocheting, Baton twirling, Video gaming, Jogging, Whittling, Model building

    Introduction: My name is Rob Wisoky, I am a smiling, helpful, encouraging, zealous, energetic, faithful, fantastic person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.